Hom Bru " No Afore Time" CD


Ex Tax: £11.99

In Stock
Product Code:

Not yet rated
Write a review


This is one of these rare home-spun albums that combine bounding enthusiasm with buckets of talent. The band do have twenty-five years experience and have played countless venues. Here they return to their Shetland roots with an incredibly strong album that in any less talented hands would be pitifully naff at best. Who else could combine Recuerdos De La Alhambra from the playing of John Williams with a banjo hoe-down, the reel The Harley Ashtray, and a trowie boogie compete with squeaky-voiced troll choir? All utterly brilliant, especially the gorgeously gutteral counting in! Mandolin, banjo, guitar, bass, fiddle and vocals; a strong sense of tradition, superb arrangements and a great depth of feeling for the music. Gentle songs, bouncing boogies, serene and plaintive airs and rocket-fuel reels!

1. Millbrae, Miss Susan Cooper, Calum Donaldson, Mickey Ainsworth 
2. Da Sang O Da Delting Lass 
3. Suzis Waltz 
4. A Scarce O' Tatties, Angus McKinnon, My Kindly Sweetheart, The Ale Is Dear, Jock Wilson's Ball 
5. Da Sang O Da Fisher Lad 
6. Recuerdos De La Alhambra 
7. The Galway Hornpipe, The Poppy Leaf 
8. Da Trowie Song 
9. Serendipity 
10. Joys Of Quebec, Crooked Stovepipe, Mittens Breakdown, Arkansas Traveller, Golden Slippers 
11. High Rockin Swing 
12. Da Lass O Hascosay 
13. Bonnie Nancy 
14. The Harley Ashtray, McPherson's Strut 
15. Simmer Dim.

Reviews (0)

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!

Bad            Good


Scottish Music Online

Music Box Scotland have been distributing Scottish Music online for over 15 years. We stock a wide variety of Scottish Music, Irish Music, Celtic Music and many other genres. Browse or search, or get in touch by email or telephone if you're looking for something in particular!

Contact Us

Phone us
01250 875424
Email us